A GSA schedule is an unfunded, long-term contract that lists the prices the federal government has agreed to pay for a product- or service-provider's commercial goods and services. There are 62 categories of products and services from which GSA buys, known as "Schedules," that apply to GSA's three business lines:

Public Buildings Service:

  • Lease
  • Construction
  • Building Services
  • Security Services

Federal Technology Service:

  • Telecommunications Services and Equipment
  • Network Services
  • Information Technology Solutions

Federal Supply Service:

  • Office Equipment and Supplies
  • Paper Products
  • Scientific Equipment
  • Paints and Chemicals
  • Automated Data Processing Equipment and Services (Software, Training and Integration)
  • Motor Vehicles (cars, trucks, buses, ambulances, etc.)
  • Furniture (office and household)
  • Hand Tools and Appliances
  • Office Furnishings
  • Services (EEO, Travel and Transportation, Organizational Management, Federal Management, Financial Management, Temporary Clerical Support, Conference Planning, Temporary Professional Support, Health Care Cost Recovery, Asset Management)

A GSA contract can be renewed for three five-year periods, resulting in a 20-year total contract if all the renewal options are executed. While a GSA Schedule is an official federal contract, it is not funded, so if you win a GSA contract it does not mean that you will automatically have products or services to deliver immediately. Funding occurs only when an order is signed by a federal agency.

How do I get on a GSA Schedule?

If you are interested in becoming a GSA Schedule contractor, you must first submit an offer in response to the GSA Schedule solicitation that applies to you.

Visit the GSA's webpage for "Getting on Schedule" to detailed information.

How are GSA contracts funded?

GSA contracts are funded by the federal government. Orders are placed with the GSA Schedule coordinator; the goods or services are made directly available to the client. In this way, the GSA Schedules program reflects commercial buying practices more than any other federal procurement processes.

What other types of contractual schedules are there?

Multiple Award Schedules (MAS)
MAS schedules apply to awarded companies that supply comparable commercial supplies and services at varying prices. Instead of sticking to strict guidelines as in the GSA contracts, MAS contracts provide clients with more variety and flexibility, as well as the ability to select the best value for the services they need at the lowest overall cost option.

Single Award Schedules (SAS)
SAS schedules apply to contracts with one supplier for a specific product at a stated price that's delivered to a specific geographic area as defined in the schedule.

Currently, the GSA has one Single Award Schedule: The JWOD Schedule (named for the Javits-Wagner-O'Day Act) contains a variety of products manufactured by people who are blind or have other severe disabilities. The JWOD Schedule is awarded to the National Industries for the Blind.